Läst; The woman in black

Idag läste jag ut "The woman in black" av Susan Hill...
 
 
Inledning; "It was nine-thirty on Christmas Eve. As I crossed the long entrance hall of Monk's Piece on my way from the dining room, where we had just enjoyed the first of the happy, festive meals, toward the drawing room and the fire around which my family were now assembled, I paused and then, as I often do in the course of an evening, went to the front door, opened it and stepped outside.
 
I have always liked to take a breath of the evening, to smell the air, whether it is sweetly scented and balmy with the flowers of midsummer, pungent with the bonfires and leaf-mold of autumn, or crackling cold from frost and snow. I like to look about me and the sky above my head, whether there are moon and stars or utter blackness, and into the darkness ahead of me; I like to listen for the cries of nocturnal creatures and the moaning rise and fall of the wind, or the pattering of rain in the orchard trees, I enjoy the rush of air toward me up the hill from the flat pastures of the river valley."
 
Så beskrivande och nästan poetiskt börjar första kapitlet i denna bok, som faktiskt är en riktigt spännande spökhistoria. Huvudpersonen heter Arthur och arbetar som advokat och han lämnar storstaden London och åker långt ut på landet för att närvara vid begravningen av en klient och sedan ta hand om dennas kvarlåtenskaper då det inte finns några arvingar. Föga anar han då att lugnet och ron på landet snart kommer att förvandlas till en mardröm, vilken han befinner sig mitt uppe i...
 
Titel; The woman in black
Författare; Susan Hill
Genre; Skräck
Boktyp; Pocket
Antal sidor; 166
Utgivningsår denna utgåva; 2011
Förlag; Vintage Books
 
Det är en väldigt spännande bok som jag hade svårt att lägga ifrån mig, men när den var slut kände jag ändå att den på ett sätt var oavslutad, så jag hade velat se en uppföljare. Såvitt jag vet finns det dock ingen sådan... Men en klart läsvärd bok!
 



Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

helenalejon

En blogg om mitt vardagsliv och mina tankar och funderingar om saker som händer i livet.

RSS 2.0